Book Review: Shadow in the Mirror by Deepti Menon

Published by mommyshravmusings on

The first book, I picked up this year as a part of the Blogchatter Book Review program is “Shadow in the Mirror”. I was happy with my decision, as this book has become a good companion for me during my last travel. I just couldn’t keep the book down, as Deepti got me completely captivated with her characters.

Genre: Action/Crime Thriller

Author: Deepti Menon

Publisher: Readomania

Available at: Amazon, GoodReads, Readomania

Shadow in the Mirror, Deepti Menon, Book Review, Blogchatter Book Review Program, Mommyshravmusings
Source: Readomania

The Plot:

The entire story begins with the death of Nita. Nita was a happy girl, and also she was pregnant. So her jumping from the balcony arouses suspicions all around. So her death casts a shadow over many lives; her heartbroken father, her husband, and Vinny, a young journalist, drawn in by the whiff of foul play and murder.

What follows are stories within stories, eras, and worlds colliding with each other, leaving behind splintered relationships and mesmerizing slices of lives that appear to be drawn together and driven apart by the whimsical threads of destiny.

Whether the dark shadow that has been cast over so many people due to the death of Nita could be removed or this dark shadow would suffocate them also along with Nita is what needs to be understood, only by reading this book.

My thoughts:

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Honestly, there are so many elements in this book “Shadow in the Mirror” that will take the reader by surprise. Deepti has used the layered narrative technique in the best possible way. The way she started each story, which in turn has become another branch of the big tree is really mesmerizing. This way, Deepti has left the reader to tie the loose ends and connections so that we can understand the story completely. This book is not an easy read, which can be put down after the reader completes the book. Those haunting eyes on the book cover are not going to leave you soon.

Like in any other mystery thrillers, all these subplots will make the reader tie the connections properly. Initially, I was surprised by the number of subplots this book was getting into. But honestly, everything just falls into their own space like a jigsaw puzzle. Deepti has done a really wonderful job on that part. The ending really gave me goosebumps and I started hating the murder all the more after reading those last lines. Though I was suspecting that this one character might be the murderer, reading the last lines made me wish that that character should have been dead by that time.

You might be interested in: Book Review: The Curse of Anuganga

My recommendations:

One thing that stands very clearly in this book is the number of strong female characters portrayed in this book. Every character in this book has a parallel life to them, and this story intervenes in their life at some point or the other. But these characters are not too consumed by the story alone. Which adds a realistic touch to the story. Deepti delves into women’s psychology at a deeper level. One can find an ambitious career woman along with another who has lost everything in life because of her decisions. But whatever may be the case, all of them have exhibited their true inner strength. No matter, with whom the reader identifies in the story, each character has their own flaws and positives. That’s what I feel made this book more interesting.

So, whether I am going to recommend this book “Shadow in the Mirror” further or not? Yes, I would definitely for the strong characters and good narrative style of the author. Of course, I would also have to give the credit to the wonderful cover page which will really captivate you to pick up the book.

About the Author:

Deepti Menon is the author of two books, Arms and the Woman and Deeparadhana. She has worked as a journalist with several publications and is now a freelance editor. Short stories with deft twists and tongue-in-cheek articles that tickle the funny bone are her forte. Deepti lives with her family in Chennai.

One can reach her on the Social Media at:

Blog: Deep Ties

Instagram: DeepsMenon

Facebook: Deepti Menon

This blog post is part of the blog challenge ‘#Blogaberry Dazzle’ hosted by Cindy D’Silva and Noor Anand Chawla, and generously SPONSORED BY Bugshield Clothing – Enjoy Outdoors More!

This post is also a part of the Blogchatter Book Review Program and got a free physical copy of the book in exchange for an honest review from my end. My review is no where influenced by anyone or anywhere.


mommyshravmusings

Welcome to my Parenting blog, which captures my parenting journey with Shrav. Also, I list down the books I read and review here.

51 Comments

Alpana Deo · February 2, 2021 at 1:11 am

This book seems quite interesting. The book cover is very intriguing. It is not easy to forget about those eyes and the big red Bindi. I like any story which has shown woman in a strong role. I think I am going to like this book.

    mommyshravmusings · February 3, 2021 at 2:11 pm

    Yeah Alpana, you would definitely like this book.

    Abha Singh · February 6, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    After reading your review I really want to read this book. Book cover is very interesting itself to convince me. Definitely going to add this book in my reading list. Wonderful review.

Supriti · February 2, 2021 at 5:38 pm

Looks quite intriguing.. You said there are a lot of parallel stories of strong women that are interconnected.. doing justice to all the stories in a book is a tough task n your review makes me believe that the author has done a good job.

    mommyshravmusings · February 3, 2021 at 2:12 pm

    Thank you Supriti. Yes, the author has done good justice to the book

Metamorphosis · February 3, 2021 at 8:00 pm

You know Suhasini I was thinking of picking this book for reviewing as well…after reading your review I think I should..let me check the availability. This book looks quite intriguing.

    mommyshravmusings · February 4, 2021 at 4:34 pm

    Yes, I think they are still available. I checked it yesterday only. Thank you Swati for dropping by

raunica · February 3, 2021 at 10:49 pm

The book sounds really interesting…. Not much of a reader but if I ever do, I just want to finish the book else it will go on playing in the back of my mind trying to fill in the puzzle…

    mommyshravmusings · February 4, 2021 at 4:35 pm

    Thank you for dropping by. Yes, I can understand your situation as mostly thrillers do that to us.

Vasumathi · February 4, 2021 at 4:21 pm

A detailed review. Crime & thrillers novels are something that i love. Though i haven’t read any of Deepa Menon’s books, your review makes me want ro read it. Will visit Amazon soon to buy a Kindle version.

    mommyshravmusings · February 4, 2021 at 4:36 pm

    I picked this book up from BC book review program Vasumathi. May be you can try it there itself.

      Sadvika Kylash · February 5, 2021 at 12:56 pm

      Love your honest review. I never tried a thriller. Your review made me more enthusiastic to read this book..

      mommyshravmusings · February 5, 2021 at 4:11 pm

      Thank you Sadvika. Do read the book and let me know your views

Shahira · February 4, 2021 at 4:52 pm

I havent read a mystery thriller since long. Thanks for the recommendation. I will look into the book soonish. my TBR pile is ever growing!

Monidipa Dutta · February 4, 2021 at 5:24 pm

I read it. I was really intrigued by this book. I felt Vinny’s helplessness as she tries to uncover the mystery surrounding Nita’s death. I wept for Nita a beautiful & loving girl, a daughter, a wife and a to be mother, a life full of promises cut too short. The story travels through different times and lives of all the characters and tackles a wide variety of relationships and human psychology – their past and present and what made them the way they are!

    mommyshravmusings · February 5, 2021 at 4:14 pm

    Very true Monidipa. I was feeling similar to you. The beauty of this story is that it projects people as what they are. So we kind of start respecting every character in the story.

Ritu · February 4, 2021 at 5:51 pm

This looks quite interesting. I enjoyed reading your review. Mysteries and thrillers are my guilty pleasures. I did see the book at the Blogchatter library but am taking a break from reviewing due to increased workload. Adding it my TBR to get back to it later.

    mommyshravmusings · February 5, 2021 at 4:12 pm

    Thank you Ritu. Yes, we have to take a break once in a while. Do read it when you get some time

Priyanka Nair · February 5, 2021 at 11:16 am

I am connected with Deepti through her blog and I remember reading about it when “Shadow in the Mirror” was released, thanks for sharing your honest review.

Shail Thosani · February 5, 2021 at 6:37 pm

Looks like an interesting book. The cover of the book is very catchy. Review is crisp.

Harjeet Kaur · February 5, 2021 at 9:56 pm

Very interesting review. I like women authors and women oriented books but I am not into crime thrillers at all. My life itself is a serious thriller. I liked the cover and the title though

    mommyshravmusings · February 6, 2021 at 2:50 pm

    Thank you Harjeet. Yes people will have a different set of preferences over reading.

Arti Singh · February 5, 2021 at 11:50 pm

I am so curious about Deepti and wish to pick up this book

    mommyshravmusings · February 6, 2021 at 2:49 pm

    Its available on BC book review program or else you can pick it up from Amazon Arti. Thanks for dropping by

Priyanka Chhabria · February 6, 2021 at 4:13 pm

I love such gripping stories. Your review makes me want to read it now. Will get this thriller read for me, I am sure my husband will also like it.

Madhu Bindra · February 6, 2021 at 5:59 pm

I love reading thrillers and this books looks interesting. I enjoyed reading your review. I liked the cover of the book, grabs your attention.

Abha Singh · February 6, 2021 at 9:23 pm

After reading your review I really want to read this book. Book cover is very interesting itself to convince me. Definitely going to add this book in my reading list. Wonderful review.

mahekg · February 7, 2021 at 12:28 am

Thrillers is a genre which I totally enjoy. The name of the book is very catchy and keeps you thinking about what is the boom about. The plot you shared also seems interesting. Will surely check it.

Archana · February 7, 2021 at 1:23 pm

Wow what an intriguing storyline, definitely win the place to my TBR. Also as it been so long I have read any mystery thriller genre book. Your detailed review and an appealing cover page saying it all.

    Aishwarya Verma · February 7, 2021 at 9:04 pm

    Wow!! Quite intrigued by the cover picture 🙂 shall grab my hands on the book for sure !!

      mommyshravmusings · February 9, 2021 at 9:41 am

      Thats so wonderful to hear it

    mommyshravmusings · February 9, 2021 at 9:40 am

    Well said Archana. Thank you

Aishwarya Sandeep · February 7, 2021 at 3:52 pm

Looks like something that I would like to pick up and read on a weekend. Will definately try and lay my hands on a copy of this book.

    mommyshravmusings · February 9, 2021 at 9:41 am

    Thank you Aishwarya, do let me know your thoughts after reading it

momcaptureslife · February 7, 2021 at 10:06 pm

The book sounds really interesting…. Not much of a reader but after your review i would like to read this

Yashila Barnwal · February 7, 2021 at 10:57 pm

After reading your review I really want to read this book. Book cover is very interesting itself to convince me.

Sindhu Vinod Narayan · February 7, 2021 at 11:16 pm

Your review is intriguing and I’m definitely adding this to my TBR sooner

Amritha Srinath · February 7, 2021 at 11:44 pm

I have read this book Shadow in the Mirror and yet to review them. But I found this book absolutely mind-blowing, the layer-narrative technique is so apt to uncover the murderer’s motives. Those haunting eyes on the cover and the last lines, I have got to give it to the author who has just left the readers linger on to the book for a long time after the read.

    mommyshravmusings · February 9, 2021 at 9:45 am

    Yes very true Amritha. I just couldn’t pick up any other book for a day after finishing this book, as it got that effect one me.

Deepti Menon · February 8, 2021 at 6:03 pm

Suhasini, I am thrilled about your wonderful words about my book and also about the numerous responses to your heartwarming review. What can be better for an author than an honest appraisal of her book? Thank you ever so much for making my day. God bless!

    mommyshravmusings · February 9, 2021 at 9:40 am

    Thank you Deepti. I honestly, liked the book and also the cover page, so my heart just poured out in the blog. Thank you dear

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: